LibGuides: Lee 6th Grade Research Projects: Cultural Fair

Country Reports
Check the back of your library card for username and password.
If you use Country Reports, you will need to create a citation using Bibme or CiteThisForMe. See their links below.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica is a great online encyclopedia that will have more than you need about your country.
Use the Middle level to find the article about your country. You may adjust the amount of reading material and level by clicking on the Reading Level icons on the upper right side of the page.
Get the citation you need for your bibliography by clicking on the check mark icon. One really COOL feature is the World Atlas. You can zoom in on your country, see the satellite view from Google Earth, and even see the street view by dragging the Google man to the blue street. Try it!
CiteThisForMe
Use for website or book citations
Country Research Library Books
You will need to log in to Destiny to access this list.
Username: id number
Password: last name

Image Examples

EIFFEL TOWER, . Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 16 Apr 2014. http://quest.eb.com/images/157_2916315

Creating a PhotoStory

Finding Images
1. Use the recommended image sources. These are the easiest to cite because they give you the MLA citation which you can just copy and paste into your Works cited slide

2. Create a folder in your Schoology Resources account and name it for this project

Saving Images

1. Open to the largest sized image available. This will keep it from becoming blurring in your presentation. Right click on the images and select Save Picture As with the name of the image. Save them on the desktop.

2. For every picture you save, copy/paste the image citation or attribution in your Works Cited document.You may not use all of the images you find so just keep them here until you have decided which you will actually use.

3. Upload all images and your Works Cited document in to your Schoology Resources folder for this project.

Creating your Bibliography Image

1. Open your bibliography document.

2 Format your bibliography using MLA format, making sure your citations are in alphabetical order.

3 Copy the completed Bibliography and paste it into a power point slides. (You may separate Image Credits from Information Credits)

4 Save these slides as images in a folder by clicking File/Save As/JPEG Interchange Format. All Slides.

Creating Your PhotoStory

1. Open PhotoStory 3.
2. Download the images you are using to your computer. Import your pictures and put them in order. You may need to delete any duplications.
3. Put the bibliography image(s)last.
4. Record your narration for each slide.
5. Create music.

6. Save as project in your Schoology folder. You may want to make changes later.

7. When you are happy with your movie, save it as a wmv for computer use and upload it to your Schoology project folder.